Spring Dates & Deadlines

Important Dates for Spring, Summer, and Fall Semesters:

Academic Calendar

Archived Dates and Deadlines


Dates and times may change without prior notice. Contact the Registrar's Office for verification.

Spring Graduation Application Deadline

Please review your Degree Progress Report to see if you meet eligibility.

Friday, October 16, 2020

Class Schedule on the Web

Monday, November 9, 2020

Bursar Begins Accepting Payments

Monday, November 30, 2020

Priority Registration for Continuing Students

Permission numbers obtained before the first day of instruction will not override closed classes.

  • Undergraduate: 16 units | including 12 units waitlisted
  • Post-Baccalaureate: 9 units | including 12 units waitlisted

Monday, November 30, 2020 –  Friday, January 15

Registration for New Graduate Students

Permission numbers obtained before the first day of instruction will not override closed classes. 

  • Post-Baccalaureate: 9 units | including 4 units waitlisted

Saturday, December 12, 2020 –  Friday, January 15

Coursematch Outgoing/Incoming Registration

Monday, November 30, 2020 –  Sunday, January 24

Winter Break

No Classes | Campus Closed

Friday, December 25, 2020 – Friday, January 1

Coursematch Incoming Registration

Monday, January 11 – Sunday, January 24

No Adds, Drops, or Promotion from wait list

Saturday, January 16 –  Friday, January 22

Orientation Registration for Freshman and Transfers

Date and times may change without prior notice.

  • Freshman: 16 units | Including 12 units waitlisted
  • Transfers: 16 units | Including 12 units waitlisted

TBD

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

No Classes | Offices Closed

Monday, January 18

Payment Due Date

Date and times may change without prior notice.

TBD

New International Student Orientation

Date and times may change without prior notice.

TBD

Orientation Registration for New Undergraduate F1 visa International Students

Dates and times may change without prior notice 

  • Undergraduate: 16 units | including 12 units waitlisted

TBD

Open Registration for All Students

Exceed Maximum Unit Petitions can only be processed starting the Open Registration period.

  • Undergraduate: 19 units | Including 12 units waitlisted
  • Post-Baccalaureate: 16 units | Including 12 units waitlisted

TBD

Payment Due Date for all New International Students, including new graduate students

Monday, January 25

First Day of Instruction

Monday, January 25

Adding Classes with Permission Numbers

Monday, January 25 –  Friday, February 12

Last Day for Faculty Drops

Thursday, February 11

Last Day to Drop/Withdraw Classes without a W grade

Friday, February 12

Audit Grading Option Deadline

Friday, February 12

Withdrawal from Classes or University for Serious and Compelling Reasons

Saturday, February 13 – Monday, April 19

CENSUS

Friday, February 19

Credit/No Credit Option Deadline

Tuesday, March 23

Spring ’21 Spring Recess

No Classes | Campus Open

Monday, March 22 – Friday, March 26

Cesar Chavez Day

No Classes | Offices Closed

Wednesday, March 31

Withdrawal from Classes or University by Exception for Documented Serious and Compelling Reasons

Tuesday, April 20 – Friday, May 14

Last Day of Instruction

Friday, May 14

Final Exams

Monday, May 17 -  Friday, May 21

Commencement

TBD

Memorial Day

No Classes | Campus Closed

Monday, May 31

Grades Due by Faculty

Friday, May 28 @ 11:59 PM

Grades Processed (End of Term)

Date and times may change without prior notice.

Tuesday, June 1

Grades Available on SF State Gateway

Date and times may change without prior notice.

Tuesday, June 1

Official Transcripts Available with Semester Grades

Date and times may change without prior notice.

Tuesday, June 15