Welcome to the Registrar's Office

Our purpose is to implement effective, reliable, user-friendly services that contribute to the attraction, retention, and graduation of a highly diverse student body. In addition, we are committed to providing all of our constituents (students, faculty, university administrators, or interested parties) with resources that empower them to accomplish their objectives.

Remote Services Notice

The Registrar's Office is currently delivering all services remotely. Please email records@sfsu.edu or call our office at (415) 338-2350 for assistance. San Francisco State University will remain open but most services are being delivered remotely until February 7.

Remote Campus Operations: How to Remotely Submit forms

For updates about the return to campus, please visit news.sfsu.edu. For information about virtual and in-person instruction, please see our Campus Comeback FAQ.

For information about submitting documents remotely to the Registrar’s Office during this period, we have identified some options to help. Broadly speaking, we will accept a form if submitted directly from your SFSU student email account. Some details on specific forms are below.

Submission Option(s)
Form(s) Steps
  • Waiver of College Regulations
  • Change or Addition of a Major/Minor
  • Independent Study Requests
  • Leave of Absence
  • Special Program Enrollments
  1. Send completed form as attachment from your SFSU email directly to your advisor or department office. 
  2. A physical signature is not needed only if submitting forms via SFSU email.
  3. Advisor or department offices will review and forward through any required approval workflow.
  4. Once complete, the final approver should send directly to the Registrar’s records email, records@sfsu.edu.
Submission Option(s)
Form(s) Steps
All
  1. Send completed form as attachment from your SFSU email directly to your advisor or department office. 
  2. A physical signature is not needed only if submitting forms via SFSU email.
  3. The Registrar’s Office will review and process.

Transcripts are available online through SF State Gateway or Parchment's ordering portal. If you are unable to complete a request, please review our ordering guide for assistance.

Dates & Deadlines

For more dates visit our dates & deadlines, and, visit the Bursar's Student Information site to review payment deadline information.

First Day of Instruction
Monday, January 24, 2022

Last day to Drop/Withdraw classes without a W grade
Friday, February 11, 2022

Withdrawal from Classes or University for serious and compelling reasons
Saturday, February 12, 2022 - Monday, April 18, 2022

Credit/No Credit Option Deadline
Tuesday, March 22, 2022

Withdrawal from Classes or University by exception for documented serious and compelling reasons
Tuesday, April 19, 2022 - Friday, May 13, 2022

Last Day of Instruction
Friday, May 13, 2022

First Day of Instruction
R1|R4: Tuesday, June 1
R2: Monday, June 14
R3: Tuesday, July 6

Last day to Drop/Withdraw classes without a W grade
R1|R4: Monday, June 14
R2: Friday, June 25
R3: Monday, July 19

Withdrawal from Classes or University for serious and compelling reasons
R1: Tuesday, June 15 –  Monday, June 21
R2: Saturday, June 26 –  Friday, July 30
R3: Tuesday, July 20 –  Monday, August 2
R4: Tuesday, June 15 –  Monday, August 2

Credit/No Credit Option Deadline
R1: Friday, July 2 @ 5 PM
R2|R3|R4: Friday, August 6 @ 5 PM

Withdrawal from Classes or University by exception for documented serious and compelling reasons
R1: Tuesday, June 22 –  Friday, July 2
R2: Saturday, July 31 –  Friday, August 6
R3: Tuesday, August 3 –  Friday, August 6
R4: Tuesday, August 3 –  Friday, August 6

Last Day of Instruction
R1: Friday, July 2
R2|R3|R4: Friday, August 6

First Day of Instruction
Monday, August 23

Last day to Drop/Withdraw classes without a W grade
Monday, September 13

Withdrawal from Classes or University for serious and compelling reasons
Tuesday, September 14 – Monday, November 15

Credit/No Credit Option Deadline
Monday, October 18

Withdrawal from Classes or University by exception for documented serious and compelling reasons
Tuesday, November 16 – Friday, December 10

Last Day of Instruction
Friday, December 10