Dates & Deadlines

Registrar-specific dates and deadlines are the only ones listed on this page. For an all-campus calendar, visit the University Calendar. For College or Department-specific calendars, visit SF State's directory.

Semester events, dates, times, and deadlines can change without prior notice. Please check back regularly for the latest updates, and if you have any questions please email us.

Fall 2022

Events

Dates

Fall Priority Graduation Application Period Opens

Please review your DPR and visit our Graduation site to see if you meet eligibility.

Tuesday, March 1, 2022

Fall Priority Graduation Application Period Closes

Please review your DPR and visit our Graduation site to see if you meet eligibility.

Friday, April 1, 2022

Class Schedule on the Web

Monday, April 11, 2022

Bursar Begins Accepting Payments

Monday, April 25, 2022

Priority Registration for Continuing Students

  • Permission numbers will override closed classes starting the second week of the term.
  • Undergraduate: 19 units | including 12 units waitlisted
  • Post-Baccalaureate: 16 units | including 12 units waitlisted

Monday, April 25, 2022 - Friday, July 29, 2022

Coursematch

See csufullyonline.com for more details

Wednesday, June 1, 2022 - Sunday, August 21, 2022

Registration for New Graduate Students (including international students)

  • Permission numbers will override closed classes starting the second week of the term.
  • Post-Baccalaureate: 16 units | including 12 units waitlisted

Monday, June 6, 2022 - Friday, July 29, 2022

Orientation Registration for Freshman and Transfers (Including international students)

First-Year (Freshman) Orientation Sessions

Monday, June 6, 2022 - Thursday, June 30, 2022

New Transfer Orientation Sessions

Tuesday, July 5, 2022 - Friday, July 29, 2022

Open Registration

Saturday, July 30, 2022 - Sunday, August 21, 2022

Payment Due Date

 

For more fee payment information: bursar.sfsu.edu/students/upcoming-academic-year

  • In-person: 4 PM
  • Online: 11:59 PM

Wednesday, August 10

CSU Fully Online (AB386) Continued Registration

See csufullyonline.com for more details

Monday, August 8, 2022 – Sunday, August 21, 2022

Payment Due Date for:

  • All New International Students
  • Including New Graduate Students

For more fee payment information: bursar.sfsu.edu/students/upcoming-academic-year

Monday, August 22, 2022

First Day of Instruction

Monday, August 22, 2022

Adding Classes | Permission numbers NOT required to add most classes Monday, August 22, 2022 - Sunday, August 28, 2022

Adding Classes | Permission numbers ARE Required

Monday, August 29, 2022 - Monday, September 12, 2022

Labor Day
No Classes | Campus Closed

Monday, September 5, 2022

Last Day for Faculty Drops

Sunday, September 11, 2022

Audit Deadline

Monday, September 12, 2022

Last Day to Drop/Withdraw Classes without a W grade

Please see Bursar's Refund Guidelines for financial impacts

Monday, September 12, 2022

Withdrawal from Classes or University

For Serious and Compelling Reasons

Tuesday, September 13, 2022 - Monday, November 14, 2022

CENSUS

Monday, September 19, 2022

Veteran's Day
No Classes | Campus Closed

Friday, November 11, 2022

Withdrawal from Classes or University

By Exception for Documented Serious and Compelling Reasons

Tuesday, November 15, 2022 - Friday, December 9, 2022

Fall 2022 Recess:
No Classes | Campus Open

 

Fall 2022 Recess: Thanksgiving
No Classes | Campus Closed

Monday, November 21, 2022 - Saturday, November 26, 2022

 

Thursday, November 24, 2022 -  Friday, November 25, 2022

Grading Option Deadline (This includes Cr/No CR, Audit, or Letter Grade) Friday, December 9, 2022

Last Day of Instruction

Friday, December 9, 2022

Final Exams

Saturday, December 10, 2022 - Friday, December 16, 2022

Grades Due by Faculty

Wednesday, December 28, 2022

Grades Available on SF Gateway

  • This date is tentative
  • Grades are posted to Gateway as soon as the course instructor submits their grade roster, not when they post grades in iLearn
  • Graduation Applications are only processed when all end-of-term processes are completed
Friday, January 6, 2023

Official Transcripts Available with Semester Grades

Semester dates can change without prior notice. Please check back at the end of the semester for the latest updates.

Monday, January 16, 2023

Spring 2023

Event

Date

Spring Priority Graduation Application Period Opens

Review your DPR and visit our Graduation site to see if you meet eligibility.

Thursday, September 1, 2022

Spring Priority Graduation Application Period Closes

Review your DPR and visit our Graduation site to see if you meet eligibility.

Friday, October 21, 2022

Class Schedule on the Web

Monday, November 7, 2022

Bursar Begins Accepting Payments

Monday, November 28, 2022

Priority Registration Begins for Continuing Students

  • Permission numbers will override closed classes starting the second week of the term
  • Only the first 2 weeks of this period have appointments
  • Undergraduate: 19 units | including 12 units waitlisted
  • Post-Baccalaureate: 16 units | including 12 units waitlisted

Beginning Monday, November 28, 2022

Coursematch

See csufullyonline.com for more details

Monday, December 1, 2022 - Sunday, January 29, 2023

Registration for New Graduate Students (Including international students)

  • Permission numbers will not override closed classes until the second week of the term
  • Post-Baccalaureate: 16 units | including 12 units waitlisted

Monday, December 12, 2022 - Monday, January 16, 2023

Orientation Registration for Freshman and Transfers

Including international students

First-Year (Freshman) Orientation Sessions

Friday, January 6, 2023

New Transfer Orientation Sessions

Monday, January 9, 2023 - Friday, January 13, 2023

Payment Due Date

For more fee payment information: bursar.sfsu.edu/students/upcoming-academic-year

  • In-person: 4 PM
  • Online: 11:59 PM

Monday, January 23, 2023

CSU Fully Online (AB386) Continued Registration

See csufullyonline.com for more details

Monday, January 17, 2023 - Sunday, January 29, 2023

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

No Classes | Offices Closed

Monday, January 16, 2023

Open Registration for All Students

Tuesday, January 17, 2023 - Sunday, January 29, 2023

Payment Due Date for:

  • All New International Students
  • Including New Graduate Students

For more fee payment information: bursar.sfsu.edu/students/upcoming-academic-year

Monday, January 30, 2023

First Day of Instruction

Monday, January 30, 2023

Adding classes | Permission numbers ARE NOT required to add most classes

Monday, January 30, 2023 - Sunday, February 5, 2023

Adding Classes | Permission numbers ARE Required

Monday, February 6, 2023 - Friday, February 17, 2023

Last Day for Faculty Drops

Thursday, February 16, 2023

Audit Grading Option Deadline

Friday, February 17, 2023

Last Day to Drop/Withdraw Classes without a W grade

Please see Bursar's Refund Guidelines for financial impacts

 

Friday, February 17, 2023

Withdrawal from Classes or University

For Serious and Compelling Reasons

Saturday, February 18, 2023 - Monday, April 24, 2023

CENSUS

Friday, February 24, 2023

Grading Option Deadline

This includes Cr/No CR, Audit, or Letter Grade

Tuesday, March 28, 2023

Spring Recess

No Classes | Campus Open

Monday, March 20, 2023 - Saturday, March 25, 2023

Cesar Chavez Day

No Classes | Offices Closed

Friday, March 31, 2023

Commencement Booklet Entry Deadline Saturday, April 1, 2023

Withdrawal from Classes or University

By exception for Documented Serious and Compelling Reasons

Tuesday, April 25, 2023 - Friday, May 19, 2023

Last Day of Instruction

Friday, May 19, 2023

Final Exams

Monday, May 22, 2023 - Friday, May 26, 2023

Commencement

Please visit the Commencement site for more information

Memorial Day

No Classes | Campus Closed

Monday, May 29, 2023

Grades Due by Faculty

Friday, June 2, 2023

Grades Available on SF Gateway

  • This date is tentative
  • Grades are posted to Gateway as soon as the course instructor submits their grade roster, not when they post grades in iLearn
  • Graduation Applications are only processed when all end-of-term processes are completed
Friday, June 9, 2023

Official Transcripts Available with Semester Grades

Semester dates can change without prior notice. Please check back at the end of the semester for the latest updates.

Friday, June 23, 2023

Summer 2023

Coming Soon