Dates & Deadlines

Registrar-specific dates and deadlines are the only ones listed on this page. For an all-campus calendar, visit the University Calendar. For College or Department-specific calendars, visit SF State's directory.

Semester events, dates, times, and deadlines can change without prior notice.  Please check back regularly for the latest updates, and if you have any questions please email us.

Spring 2022

Events

Dates

Spring Priority Graduation Application Period Opens

Wednesday, September 1, 2021

Spring Priority Graduation Application Period Closes

Friday, October 15, 2021

Class Schedule on the Web

Monday, November 15, 2021

Bursar Begins Accepting Payments

Monday, November 29, 2021

Priority Registration for Continuing Students

  • Permission numbers obtained before the first day of instruction will not override closed classes.
  • Undergraduate:16 units | including 12 units waitlisted
  • Post-Baccalaureate: 16 units | including 12 units waitlisted

Monday, November 29, 2021 – Wednesday, January 12, 2022, @ 5 PM

Coursematch Outgoing/Incoming Registration

See csufullyonline.com for more details

Monday, November 29, 2021 – Sunday, January 23, 2022

Registration for New Graduate Students

  • This includes international students
  • Permission numbers obtained before the first day of instruction will not override closed classes.
  • Post-Baccalaureate: 16 units | including 12 units waitlisted

Monday, December 13, 2021 – Wednesday, January 12, 2022, @ 5 PM

Winter Break
No Classes | Campus Closed

Friday, December 24, 2021 – Monday, January 3, 2022

Orientation Registration for Freshman and Transfers

  • This includes international students
  • Freshman: 16 units | Including 12 units waitlisted
  • Transfers: 16 units | Including 12 units waitlisted

First-Year (Freshman) Orientation Sessions

  • January 5, 2022

New Transfer Orientation Sessions

  • Thursday, January 6, 2022
  • Friday, January 7, 2022
  • Monday, January 10, 2022
  • Tuesday, January 11, 2022

Payment Due Date

  • In-Person: 4 PM
  • Online: 11:59 PM

Wednesday, January 12, 2022

Coursematch Incoming Registration

Monday, January 10, 2022 – Sunday, January 23, 2022

Martin Luther King Jr. Day
No Classes | Offices Closed

Monday, January 17, 2022

Open Registration for All Students

  • Exceed Maximum Unit Petitions can only be processed starting the Open Registration period.
  • Undergraduate: 19 units | Including 12 units waitlisted
  • Post-Baccalaureate: 16 units | Including 12 units waitlisted

Thursday, January 13, 2022 – Sunday, January 23, 2022

Payment Due Date for:

  • All new international students
  • Including new graduate students

Monday, January 24, 2022

First Day of Instruction

Monday, January 24, 2022

Adding Classes with Permission Numbers

Monday, January 24, 2022 – Friday, February 11, 2022

Last Day for Faculty Drops

 Thursday, February 10, 2022

Last Day to Drop/Withdraw Classes without a W grade

 Friday, February 11, 2022

Audit Grading Option Deadline

 Friday, February 11, 2022

Withdrawal from Classes or University

  • For Serious and Compelling Reasons

 Saturday, February 12, 2022 – Monday, April 18, 2022

CENSUS

Friday, February 18, 2022

Credit/No Credit Option Deadline

Tuesday, March 22, 2022

Spring ’21 Spring Recess
No Classes | Campus Open

Monday, March 21, 2022 – Saturday, March 26, 2022

Cesar Chavez Day
No Classes | Offices Closed

Thursday, March 31, 2022

Withdrawal from Classes or University

  • By exception for Documented Serious and Compelling Reasons

Tuesday, April 19, 2022 – Friday, May 13, 2022

Last Day of Instruction

Friday, May 13, 2022

Final Exams

Saturday, May 14, 2022 – Friday, May 20, 2022

Commencement

May 27, 2022

For more information visit commencement.sfsu.edu

Grades Due by Faculty

Friday, May 27, 2022 @ 11:59 PM

Memorial Day
No Classes | Campus Closed

Monday, May 30, 2022

Grades Available on SF State Gateway

Friday, June 3, 2022

Official Transcripts Available with Semester Grades

Friday, June 17, 2022

Fall 2021

Events

Dates

Fall Priority Graduation Application Period Opens

Monday, March 1, 2021

Fall Priority Graduation Application Period Closes

Friday, April 2, 2021

Class Schedule on the Web

Monday, May 17, 2021

Bursar Begins Accepting Payments

Monday, May 24, 2021

Priority Registration for Continuing Students

  • Undergraduate: 16 units | including 12 units waitlisted
  • Post-Baccalaureate: 16 units | including 12 units waitlisted

Monday, May 24, 2021 – Tuesday, August 3, 2021

Coursematch Outgoing/Incoming Registration

Tuesday, June 1, 2021 – Sunday, August 22, 2021

Registration for New Graduate Students

  • This includes international students
  • Permission numbers obtained before the first day of instruction will not override closed classes.
  • Post-Baccalaureate: 16 units | including 12 units waitlisted

Thursday, June 10, 2021 – Tuesday, August 3, 2021

Orientation Registration for Freshman and Transfers

  • This Includes international students
  • Undergraduate: 16 units | Including 12 units waitlisted
  • First-Year (Freshman) Orientation Sessions*
    • Thursday, June 10, 2021 – Friday, July 2, 2021
  • ​New Transfer Orientation Sessions*
    • Monday, July 12, 2021 – Tuesday, August 3, 2021

 

Open Registration for All Students & Enrollment Limit Increase

  • Exceed Maximum Unit Petitions can only be processed during the Open Registration period.
  • Undergraduate: 19 units | Including 12 units waitlisted
  • Post-Baccalaureate: 16 units | Including 12 units waitlisted

Wednesday, August 4, 2021 –  Sunday, August 22, 2021

Payment Due Date

  • In-Person: 4 PM
  • Online: 11:59 PM

 

 Wednesday, August 11, 2021

CSU Fully Online | AB 386 Incoming Registration

Monday, August 9, 2021 – Sunday, August 22, 2021

Payment Due Date for all New International Students

  • This includes new graduate students

Monday, August 23, 2021

First Day of Instruction

Monday, August 23, 2021

Adding Classes with Permission Numbers

Monday, August 23, 2021 – Monday, September 13, 2021

Labor Day
No Classes | Campus Closed

Monday, September 6, 2021

Last Day for Faculty Drops

Sunday, September 12, 2021

Audit Deadline

Monday, September 13, 2021

Last Day to Drop/Withdraw Classes without a W grade

Monday, September 13, 2021

Withdrawal from Classes or University

  • For Serious and Compelling Reasons

Tuesday, September 14, 2021 – Monday, November 15, 2021

CENSUS

Monday, September 20, 2021

Credit/No Credit Option Deadline

Monday, October 18, 2021

Veteran's Day
No Classes | Campus Closed

Thursday, November 11, 2021

Withdrawal from Classes or University

  • By Exception for Documented Serious and Compelling Reasons

Tuesday, November 16, 2021 – Friday, December 10, 2021

Fall 2021 Recess:
No Classes | Campus Open

Fall 2021 Recess: Thanksgiving
No Classes | Campus Closed

Monday, November 22, 2021 – Saturday, November 27, 2021

Thursday, November 25, 2021 – Friday, November 26, 2021

Last Day of Instruction

Friday, December 10, 2021

Final Exams

Saturday, December 11, 2021 – Friday, December 17, 2021

Winter Recess
No Classes | Campus Closed

Friday, December 24, 2021 – Monday, January 3, 2022

Grades Due by Faculty

Tuesday, December 28, 2021

Grades Available on SF State Gateway

Friday, January 7, 2022

Official Transcripts Available with Semester Grades

Monday, January 17, 2022

Summer 2021

Events

Dates

Summer Priority Graduation Application Period Opens

Please review your DPR and visit our Graduation site to see if you meet eligibility.

Monday, February 1, 2021

Class Schedule on the Web

Monday, March 15, 2021

Summer Priority Graduation Application Period Closes

Please review your DPR and visit our Graduation site to see if you meet eligibility.

Friday, March 5, 2021

Bursar Begins Accepting Payments

Monday, April 5, 2021

Priority Registration

  • 14 units total for all students including 5 units waitlisted
  • Unit Limit Per Session:
    • R1: 5 weeks | Max of 7 units
    • R2: 8 weeks | Max of 9 units
    • R3: 5 weeks | Max of 7 units
    • R4: 10 weeks | Max of 12 units

Monday, April 5, 2021 – Friday, April 9, 2021

Open Registration for All Students

  • 14 units total for all students including 5 units waitlisted
  • Unit Limit Per Session:
    • R1: 5 weeks | Max of 7 units
    • R2: 8 weeks | Max of 9 units
    • R3: 5 weeks | Max of 7 units
    • R4: 10 weeks | Max of 12 units

Saturday, April 10, 2021 - Monday, May 31, 2021 @ 5 PM

Additional Open Registration Dates:

  • R2: Tuesday, June 1, 2021 –  Sunday, June 13, 2021, @ 5 PM
  • R3: Tuesday, June 1, 2021 –  Monday, July 5, 2021, @ 5 PM

Payment Due Date

  • In-Person: 4 PM
  • Online: 11:59 PM

 

Monday, July 19, 2021

First Day of Instruction

R1|R4: Tuesday, June 1, 2021

R2: Monday, June 14, 2021

R3: Tuesday, July 6, 2021

Session Dates of Instruction

R1: Tuesday, June 1, 2021 – Friday, July 2, 2021

R2: Monday, June 14, 2021 – Friday, August 6, 2021

R3: Tuesday, July 6, 2021 – Friday, August 6, 2021

R4: Tuesday, June 1, 2021 – Friday, August 6, 2021

Adding Classes with Permission Numbers

R1|R4: Tuesday, June 1, 2021 – Monday, June 14, 2021

R2: Monday, June 14, 2021 – Friday, June 25, 2021

R3: Tuesday, July 6, 2021 – Monday, July 19, 2021

Last Day for Faculty Drops

R1|R4: Sunday, June 13, 2021

R2: Thursday, June 24, 2021

R3: Sunday, July 18, 2021

Last Day to Drop/Withdraw Classes without a W grade

R1|R4: Monday, June 14, 2021

R2: Friday, June 25, 2021

R3: Monday, July 19, 2021

Audit Deadline

R1|R4: Monday, June 14, 2021

R2: Friday, June 25, 2021

R3: Monday, July 19, 2021

CENSUS

R1|R4: Monday, June 14, 2021

R2: Friday, June 25, 2021

R3: Monday, July 19, 2021

Withdrawal from Classes or University

  • For Serious and Compelling Reasons

R1: Tuesday, June 15, 2021 –  Monday, June 21, 2021

R2: Saturday, June 26, 2021 –  Friday, July 30, 2021

R3: Tuesday, July 20, 2021 –  Monday, August 2, 2021

R4: Tuesday, June 15, 2021 –  Monday, August 2, 2021

Credit/No Credit Option Deadline

R1: Monday, June 21, 2021

R1: Friday, July 2, 2021, @ 5 PM

R2: Wednesday, July 7, 2021
R3: Monday, July 26, 2021
R4: Thursday, July 8, 2021

R2|R3|R4: Friday, August 6, 2021, @ 5 PM

Withdrawal from Classes or University

  • By exception for Documented Serious and Compelling Reasons

R1: Tuesday, June 22, 2021 –  Friday, July 2, 2021

R2: Saturday, July 31, 2021 –  Friday, August 6, 2021

R3: Tuesday, August 3, 2021 –  Friday, August 6, 2021

R4: Tuesday, August 3, 2021 –  Friday, August 6, 2021

Independence Day
No Classes | Campus Closed

Monday, July 5, 2021

Last Day of Instruction

R1: Friday, July 2, 2021

R2|R3|R4: Friday, August 6, 2021

Grades Due by Faculty

R1: Wednesday, July 7, 2021

R2|R3|R4: Tuesday, August 10, 2021

Grades Available on SF State Gateway

Thursday, August 12, 2021

Official Transcripts Available with Semester Grades

Thursday, August 26, 2021